Meet our Dedicated Team of Land Protectors

Board of Directors

  • Ben van Drimmellen
    Ben van Drimmellen Victoria

    Retired LAWYER, BIOLOGIST, Forester Ben returns to LTABC as a Director. He is a Past President of Habitat Acquisition Trust and Victoria Natural History Society and served on the former Canada Land Trust Alliance Board.


  • Clayton Whitman
    Clayton Whitman Vancouver Lawyer

    Clay Whitman is an experienced corporate solicitor.  He works for small, medium and large corporations, non-profit organizations, community groups and individuals whom he advises on a wide variety of issues. Clay also has extensive experience with election law and policy at the federal, provincial and municipal level and has acted for election authorities as well as for political parties, candidates and third parties.

  • Joanne Neilsen
    Joanne Neilsen Executive Director of the Fraser Valley Conservancy

    Joanne, the Executive Director of the Fraser Valley Conservancy, has over 15 years experience in the not-for-profit sector. In the fall of 2013 she joined the FVC, in that capacity she brings her extensive administrative skills, ecological knowledge, and conservation ethic to an organization that can affect change at the local level. At the FVC she oversees the acquisition and management of conservation properties, builds partnerships with other like-minded organizations, administers projects that contribute to the FVC’s mandate, and promotes conservation issues and awareness throughout the Fraser Valley.

  • Christine Torgrimson
    Christine Torgrimson Salt Spring Island Conservancy

    Christine Torgrimson is the Executive Director of the Salt Spring Island Conservancy. She has served as founder, staff, board member, trainer and consultant with numerous land trusts and conservation organizations in Canada and the U.S. throughout the past 35 years.

  • Jack Minard
    Jack Minard Comox Valley Land Trust

    Jack has recently retired from his position as executive director at the Comox Valley Land Trust. He then moved to Victoria and has taken on a co-chair role with the Alliance. Jack has a strong background in building partnerships and finding common ground. He believes there is nothing gained by complaining and much to be gained from offering soloutions. It is through being a contribution to finding solutions he maintains his optimism and energy.


  • Paul McNair, BPR MA
    Paul McNair, BPR MA Executive Director

    Paul is a native of Halifax and has served as Executive Director of the Alzheimer Society of Nova Scotia, AIDS Nova Scotia and the Parkinson Society Maritime Region. He has sat as a director of more than thirty organizations including Dance Victoria and the Greater Victoria Public Library. He was awarded Outstanding Fundraising Professional by the Association of Fundraising Professionals in 2006. Paul has visited more than 30 countries including Peru’s Amazon Rainforest, Jordan’s Wadi Rum Desert and China’s Great Wall.

  • Denise Nicholls
    Denise Nicholls Land Trust Alliance B.C.

    Denise, the Marketing and Event Planning Coordinator of Land Trust Alliance BC, has an extensive background in Graphic Design and is an avid supporter of Victoria art and artists. In addition to the work that she has done with LTABC, she has organized several art events in her beloved Chinatown neighborhood, and created and promoted her own art creations. Any spare time finds her blogging and enjoying Vancouver Island’s natural beauty.



Individual donations and memberships are needed to continue to provide our services and programs to conserve private lands in British Columbia. We thank the following donors and current members for their support:
Torrent Real Estate

C. Molnar

J. & N. Peirce
Megson Fitzpatrick Insurance Services
The Pinch Group
P. McNair
A. Hall

Additional Contributors
P. Chapman
C. Hall
W. Innes
W. McCory
L. McFadyen
H. O’Brian
J. Skogstad
A. Taylor
B. van Drimmelen
B. Wagner

Associate Organizations:

Burrowing Owl Conservation Society of BC
Clear Sky Meditation and Study Foundation
Edmonton and Area Land Trust
Elbow River Watershed Partnership
Friends of Cortes Island Society
Garry Oak Ecosystem Recovery Team
Okanagan Similkameen Stewardship Society
Ruby Lake Lagoon Nature Reserve Society
Somenos Marsh Wildlife Society
Swan Lake Christmas Hill Nature Sanctuary
Tsolum River Restoration Society
Valhalla Foundation for Ecology & Social Justice
Western Sky Land Trust
West Coast Environmental Law
Professional Consultants:

D.R. Coell & Associates Peter Mason Land Surveying

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you ASAP.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search